Rustler athletes receive National scholar awards

Rustler athletes receive National scholar awards

The 2016-2017 Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) National Scholar Award recipients were announced on September 14, with 15 Rustler athletes receiving the award. 6 Rustler teams were represented on the recipient list, which included athletes from cross country, curling, women's basketball, women's soccer and men's and women's volleyball.

Designed to recognize CCAA student-athletes who have made outstanding accomplishments academically, the student-athletes must achieve honours in the current academic year at their school to be eligible for the award.

"I am extremely proud of our student-athletes who were recipients of the CCAA National Scholar Award," Rustlers Athletic Director Alan Rogan said.  "It takes a significant amount of work to balance both academic and athletic pursuits during the year.  I would like to thank each of the student-athletes for being leaders at Lakeland."

Congratulations to the following athletes who were CCAA National Scholar Award recipients for the 2016-2017 academic and athletic year.

Megan Hall, CCR   William de Vroomen, CCR
Amy Gostola, WSOC   Jordan Stratychuk, WSOC
Natasha Chaykowski, WSOC   Travis Dow, CURLING
Tessa Briscoe, CURLING   Brooklyn Boehm, WVB
Avery Maginel, WVB   Chelsea Steinley, WVB
Tawnee Dupuis, WVB   Rae Sigurdson, WVB
Jose Arellano, MVB   Meg Ferraz, WBB
Angela Baran, WBB